Miraculous Acts

Aimmah(a.s) are Mazharal Ajaib(manifestor of wonders) some of the miraculous acts performed by Imam Mohammad Taqi(a.s) are given below:

1)Muhammad  Ibne  Ali  Hashimi  says  that  I  came  to  the Imam  on  the  day  following  his  marriage  to  Ummul  Fadhl.  I was  feeling  extremely  thirsty  due  to  some  medication  I  was  on. But  I  did  not  want  to  drink  water  at  his  place;  but  without  my asking,  he  called  for  water  and  tasted  it  and  then  gave  it  to  me after  which  I  realized  that  Imams  of  Shia  are  indeed  aware  of the  secrets  of  others.¹

This incident clearly shows that not drinking water at the place  of  the  devotees  of  Aale  Muhammad  (a.s.)  was  an  old custom;  on  the  contrary  its  propaganda  was  there  since  time  of Mamun;  and  since  Aale  Muhammad  (a.s.)  could  be  exempted from  this, how  their  followers  escape  this?

2) Muhammad  Ibne  Rayyan  says:  In  order  to  test  Imam  Jawad (a.s.),  Mamun  sent  two  hundred  pretty  girls  and  told  them to  entice  the  Imam;  but  due  to  the  loftiness  of  his  character, he  paid  no  attention  to  them.  So  Mamun  recalled  them  to the  court  and  made  them  dance.  Imam  (a.s.)  told  the  singer: O Shaykh,  fear  Allah!  Such  a  long  beard  and  this  behavior? As  a  result  of  this,  he  dropped  the  musical  instrument  from his  hand and his  hand was  permanently  paralyzed.²

3) A person  came  and  said:  Ummul  Hasan  has  requested  for an  old  dress  of  his  that  she  may  keep  it  in  her  shroud  as  a blessing.  Imam  (a.s.)  said:  There  is  no  need  of  it  now. When  he  returned,  he  found  that  the  lady  had  already passed away  fifteen days  earlier.²

4)A  man  sought  Imam’s  advice  about  a  journey  and  he restrained  him.  He  stopped,  but  his  companion,  Hammad Ibne  Isa  said:  I  have  made  all  preparations;  hence  I  cannot postpone  the  journey.  Thus  he  set  out  and  on  the  way camped  in  a  valley  where  a  flood  washed  him  away  along with his  belongings.³

5) Moammar  Ibne  Khallad  says:  Imam  (a.s.)  took  me  to  a valley;  asked  me  to  wait  and  went  away  somewhere.  When he  returned  after  sometime,  he  looked  very  sad.  When  I asked  him,  he  said:  I  am  coming  from  Tus.  My  respected father  has  passed  away  and  I  had  gone  to  pray  his  funeral prayers. ²

6) Qasim  Ibne  Abdur  Rahman  says:  I  belonged  to  Zaidiyyah faith. I had heard about the fame of Imam. One day I saw him  pass  by  and  remarked:  How  stupid  are  those  who believe  this  child  to  be  an  Imam.  I  was  thinking  this  when  a voice  came:  Qasim  Ibne  Abdur  Rahman,  one  who  leaves our  obedience  would  become  eligible  for  Hell.  I  was amazed  that  perhaps  he  was  a  magician  or  something. Another  voice  came:  You  are  wrong;  you  must  correct  your beliefs.  This  made  Qasim  very  uncomfortable  and  he immediately  came  to the  Imam  and accepted his  Imamate.⁴


References

¹ Irshaad Mufeed pg481

² Nuqush-e-Ismat(by Allama Zeeshan Haidar Jawadi)pg714

³ Shahwahidun Nubuwah pg204

⁴Ahsanul Maqal vol2 pg202

Leave a Reply

